WMS budgets depend on sites, users, warehouse complexity, and implementation scope. Hardis's published tiers distinguish single-site simple, multi-site growing, and large/complex operations; applying those per-user rates to clearly stated example counts gives different recurring and implementation amounts. The counts are illustrations, not universal size cutoffs, and its mid-market first-year guidance is not a small-warehouse price.
Pricing varies by scope, volume, integrations, hardware, services, and contract. Treat published examples as starting points, not quotes.
Pricing by operation size
These are example operating profiles, not universal size cutoffs. Each profile separates recurring costs from upfront costs and states what is included.
Smaller example: single-site, simple operation
Operating count and scope: One warehouse and 10 WMS users; the user count is an illustrative calculation, not a source-defined company-size threshold.
Recurring budget: $1,000–$2,000+ per month (10 users × Hardis's $100–$200+ per-user/month tier).
Upfront cost: $50,000–$100,000+ implementation guidance for the published single-site, simple-operation tier.
Included scope: Hardis's North America/Europe indicative SaaS per-user and implementation guidance. Excludes separately scoped hardware, automation, extra integrations, and services not specified by that tier.
Scale drivers: The source's tier is defined by a single-site simple operation, not employee count. The 10-user multiplier is arithmetic only; no discount is assumed.
Sources: Hardis Supply Chain, WMS cost
Growing example: multi-site operation
Operating count and scope: Three warehouses and 50 WMS users; these are illustrative counts, not source-defined size cutoffs.
Recurring budget: $10,000–$20,000+ per month (50 users × Hardis's $200–$400+ per-user/month tier).
Upfront cost: $100,000–$300,000+ implementation guidance for the published multi-site or growing-operation tier.
Included scope: Hardis's North America/Europe indicative SaaS per-user and implementation guidance for a core model plus rollout. Excludes separately scoped devices, automation, and additional services.
Scale drivers: The source's tier is described as multi-site or growing; the three-site and 50-user counts are examples only. No volume discount is assumed.
Sources: Hardis Supply Chain, WMS cost
Large example: large or complex enterprise
Operating count and scope: Ten warehouses and 250 WMS users; these are illustrative counts, not source-defined size cutoffs.
Recurring budget: At least $100,000 per month at the tier's $400/user lower bound; the published $400–$600+ rate implies $100,000–$150,000+ per month for 250 users, with no finite upper bound stated.
Upfront cost: $300,000–$500,000+ implementation guidance for the published large-or-complex tier.
Included scope: Hardis's North America/Europe indicative SaaS per-user and implementation guidance for phased, complex deployments. Excludes separately scoped hardware, automation, and additional services.
Scale drivers: The source says complex programs may span 6–18 months. The ten-site and 250-user counts are examples only; no volume discount is assumed.
Sources: Hardis Supply Chain, WMS cost
Pricing models
- Per user or operator
- Per order, line, or transaction
- Per facility or warehouse
- Subscription by module and automation scope
- Implementation, equipment, and integration services
Cost anatomy
- User / site subscription (recurring): Per-user, per-facility, module, or cloud subscription; warehouse complexity changes the basis.
- Configuration & migration (one-time): Process design, inventory data, testing, training, and go-live support.
- Devices & automation (hardware): Scanners, printers, handhelds, conveyors, robotics, installation, and replacement cycles.
- Support & services (service): Support tier, upgrades, integrations, onsite services, and operational administration.
Budgeting scenarios
- Core warehouse: receiving, inventory, picking, packing, and shipping
- Multi-client or multi-site: configurable workflows, billing, and role controls
- Automation-heavy: robotics, conveyor, device, integration, and engineering scope
Budget examples
Illustrations only, not forecasts or vendor quotes.
Illustration: Descartes user basis plus base fee
Assumption: 50 users × cited $100–$500/user/month, plus a base fee starting around $2,000/month
Arithmetic: $5,000–$25,000 user component + around $2,000 starting base fee / month
Caveat: Arithmetic from Descartes category guidance; the base fee starts around the stated amount, so this is not a fixed all-in quote. Excludes $3,500–$40,000 implementation guidance, support, and add-ons.
Publisher source
Illustration: mid-market first-year SaaS guidance
Assumption: Hardis's explicitly labeled mid-market SaaS example
Arithmetic: $150,000–$400,000 in year one
Caveat: Publisher-specific directional guidance for mid-market operations, not a small single-warehouse budget or a universal WMS price; confirm sites, users, implementation, and automation scope.
Publisher source
What changes total cost
- Facilities, zones, clients, SKUs, orders, and lines
- Handhelds, scanners, printers, and automation equipment
- ERP, OMS, TMS, marketplace, EDI, and carrier integrations
- Configuration, migration, testing, training, and go-live support
- Support tier, updates, expansion, and contract commitments
Quote normalization checklist
- Sites, zones, clients, SKUs, orders, lines, and peak volume
- Users, devices, printers, automation, and facility connectivity
- ERP, OMS, TMS, carrier, marketplace, EDI/API integrations
- Implementation, migration, testing, training, and 6–18 month timeline assumptions
- Support, upgrades, expansion, hardware lifecycle, and contract terms
Published pricing examples
Examples use different units and scopes. Compare quotes for the same requirements.
- Hardis gives indicative first-year mid-market SaaS guidance of $150,000-$400,000; its tiers show $100-$200+ per user/month for single-site, $200-$400+ for multi-site, and $400-$600+ for large/complex deployments.
Scope: Vendor-published North America/Europe guidance, with implementation examples of $50,000-$100,000+, $100,000-$300,000+, and $300,000-$500,000+ respectively.
Keep in mind: Indicative guidance, not a quote or market average; complex enterprise programs may take 6-18 months.
hardisWms · Accessed September 15, 2026 - CPCON groups total WMS guidance as small $20,000-$50,000, medium $50,000-$150,000, large $150,000-$500,000, and enterprise multi-site $500,000-$2m+.
Scope: Consultancy ranges including software, implementation, hardware, training, and support.
Keep in mind: Bundled consultancy guidance; scope differs from per-user SaaS and should not be averaged with it.
cpconWms · Accessed September 15, 2026 - Software Advice's 2020 guide shows an extremely broad $30-$191,900+ perpetual-license sample range across tiers.
Scope: A source-specific perpetual-license sample with materially different tiers and deployment scopes.
Keep in mind: Older 2020 directional context; do not treat the sample as a current quote or market average.
softwareAdviceWms · 2020 - Descartes category guidance describes cloud costs around $100-$500 per user/month plus a base fee around $2,000 and implementation around $3,500-$40,000.
Scope: Cloud WMS guidance expressed per user plus base and implementation components.
Keep in mind: Source-specific, directional, and scope-sensitive; do not combine with the perpetual-license sample or treat as a current quote.
descartesWms · Not stated; accessed September 15, 2026
Frequently asked questions
How much does WMS software cost?
WMS pricing guidance commonly separates subscription or usage from implementation, integration, hardware, and automation scope. There is no single market price. Compare the scope included in each quote and ask vendors to separate subscription, implementation, integrations, hardware, and ongoing services.
What should a software quote include?
Ask for a written breakdown of the recurring subscription or usage charge, one-time implementation and data work, integrations, hardware or devices, training, support, expansion assumptions, renewal terms, and any minimum volume. Quotes vary when these items are bundled differently.
How can a buyer compare software pricing fairly?
Normalize the same operating scenario: users, shipments or orders, sites, vehicles, integrations, hardware, support level, implementation timeline, and contract length. Use a total-cost-of-ownership view rather than comparing a headline subscription alone.
Does a mid-market WMS budget describe a small single warehouse?
Not necessarily. Hardis separately gives single-site/simple guidance of $100–$200+ per user/month and $50,000–$100,000+ implementation. For the illustrative 10-user example that is $1,000–$2,000+ monthly plus implementation; its $150,000–$400,000 first-year guidance is specifically described as mid-market SaaS, not a universal small-site budget.
Sources
Confirm current prices and terms directly with providers. See pricing guides · Browse common comparisons.